Heritage Preservation Commission


  • 4 pm
  •  2nd Wednesday of every month
  • Council Chambers, 3rd Floor
  • City Hall
    207 Lafayette Street

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


The Heritage Preservation Commission consists of eleven members who serve three year terms and are appointed by the Mayor, with approval of the City Council.  The Commission is overseen by the City Planner.  Positions open July 17.

  • Michael Doyle
    Term Expires July 17, 2023
  • Connie Dretske
    Term Expires: July 17, 2023
  • Innes Henderson
    Term Expires: July 17, 2023
  • Jessica Richards
    Term Expires: July 17, 2024
  • Emily Kurash Casey
    Term Expires: July 17, 2024
  • Kendall Larson
    Term Expires: July 17, 2024
  • Aaron Perleberg
    Term Expires: July 17, 2024
  • Dr. Scott Hannon
    Term Expires: July 17, 2025
  • Joseph Hughes
    Term Expires: July 17, 2025
  • Cynthia Jennings
    Term Expires: July 17, 2025
  • Peter Shortridge
    Term Expires: July 17, 2025

Membership Criteria

Citizen of Winona and not holding a paid position within the City. The members must include:

  • At least one architect or person experienced in the building trades
  • At least one professional in the areas of:
    • Archaeology
    • Architectural History
    • Building Trades
    • Design
    • History
    • Landscape Architecture or Law
    • Planning
  • One member from the City Planning Commission
  • One member from each voting ward in the City
  • One member from the Winona County Historical Society
  • Three members with a demonstrated interest and/or expertise in historic preservation


The Heritage Preservation Commission was created by the City Council in 1989 to promote the rehabilitation and conservation of historic properties for the education, inspiration, pleasure and enrichment of the citizens and visitors of Winona.

Historic District Design Guidelines