John Latsch Memorial Board


  • Bi-annually at Winona National Bank


The John Latsch Memorial Board consists of the five members who serve four year terms. The John Latsch Memorial Board is staffed by City Clerk Monica Hennessy Mohan - email Monica Hennessy Mohan.

  • Scott D. Sherman, Ex-Officio and Mayor
    Term Expires: December 31, 2024
  • Tim Breza/Appointed by the District Judge
    Term Expires: April 11, 2023
  • Randy Domeyer/District Judge
    Term Expires: May 1, 2023
  • Jeff Peterson
    Term Expires: May 1, 2024
  • Dave Gilmer, Hospital
    Term Expires: May 1, 2026


  • The Mayor is an Ex-Officio Member
  • One member by Winona General Hospital Association
  • One member by the Woodlawn Cemetery Association
  • Two members by the District Judge

Membership Criteria

Interest in recreation and conservation.


The John Latsch Memorial Board was established by Trust Deed from John A. Latsch in 1915. The deed conveyed to the John Latsch Memorial Board numerous properties. The board is responsible for receiving income from the properties conveyed and to expend the income in the manner specified by John Latsch.

Mr. Latsch was a great outdoorsman, and true to his nature, he specified that the income generated from the parcels be used to provide, enlarge, improve, and maintain public parks and animal, bird, fish, game and hunting preserves on those lands donated by him. He further specified that funds may be used to improve Island Number 72, which is now known as Latsch Island.


Trust Deed of John A. Latsch, 1915