Port Authority

The Port Authority was established by the Winona City Council by resolution on March 18, 1968, under the authority of Chapter 541, Session Laws of the State of Minnesota for 1967. The enabling legislation granted the exercise of all powers and duties of Port Authorities in the State of Minnesota to the Winona Port Authority. The Port Authority of Winona is governed by seven Commissioners, two of whom are current City Council members. The City Manager serves as the Executive Secretary for the Port Authority, and other City staff act as the support staff for the Authority. This framework promotes a relationship between the Authority and the City of Winona. In addition, specific requirements of legislation related to the Winona Port Authority requires that the City Council approve all matters such as bond issues; use of eminent domain powers, establishment of industrial districts and a creation of tax increment projects to help ensure that the Port Authority activities are consistent with City policies. Given the powers it has today, the Port Authority can acquire and improve land for industrial and economic development purposes and prepare attractive financing packages enabling industrial location and expansion.

Members: Seven
Appointment: Mayor, with approval of Council
Term: Six Years
Meets: Second Thursday of each month, 4:00 pm, Council Chambers, 3rd Floor City Hall
Staff: City Manager Steve Sarvi & Community Development Director Lucy McMartin
Port Authority Website

Membership Criteria

Interest in economic development.

Member Term Expires
Michael Cichanowski 3/18/2022
Dana Johnson 3/18/2022
Laurie Lucas 3/18/2022
George Borzyskowski 12/31/2022
Al Thurley  12/31/2022
Ernest Gorman 3/18/2024
Michael Hansen 3/18/2024
 Stephen T. Sarvi   Executive Secretary